Hassan Tampuli retains Gushegu seat for NPP

The New Parliamentary Candidate for Gushegu in the Northern Region Lawyer Hassan Tampuli has been elected Member of Parliament for the area.

He won the seat with 30,373 votes representing 51.76 percent.

His challenger Yussif Malimali of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) polled 28,059 representing 47.81 percent.

In July 2020, the CEO of the National Petroleum Authority (NPA), was acclaimed as the Parliamentary candidate for the Gushegu constituency for the New Patriotic Party ahead of the 2020 polls.

The National Steering Committee of the NPP took the decision at an emergency meeting on June 17, 2020.

This follows the withdrawal of the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Dr Ziblim Iddi and the only candidate Mahama Osman who also chickened-out earlier this week.

Source: tamaleonline.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *